FACILITIES MANAGEMENT

Facilities Management Home
Services
Maintenance and Operations
Colonial Central
Maintenance
Key & Card Access
Environmental Health & Safety
Campus Projects
Service Alerts
Safety at RMU
About Us
Campus Buildings
For Students

Plan Design Build Maintain Serve

FACULTY/STAFF > DEPARTMENTS & OFFICES > FACILITIES MANAGEMENT > SERVICES
Maintenance and Operations

Maintenance and Operations consists of a team of personnel that physically maintain all buildings and equipment; facilitate university communications and administer work requests; manage key and access control systems as well as management who oversee these functions and administer an organization-wide environmental health and safety process.   

The following areas make up the
Maintenance and Operations Department:

Maintenance 
Grounds 

Our Team

Ruth Haynam

Senior Director, Maintenance and Operations
haynam@rmu.edu

Matt Hyatt
Assistant Director, Facilities Maintenance
hyatt@rmu.edu

Nate Bickerstaff
Assistant Director, Grounds
bickerstaff@rmu.edu


Bernadette Shawgo

Senior Operations Manager
shawgo@rmu.edu

Anthony Rubino
Maintenance Expediter
rubino@rmu.edu

Thomas Cassidy
Facilities Specialist II
cassidy@rmu.edu

*Wheatley Center Photo Credit: Austen Czapla
Fun Facts ♦ Did you know? 
  • Operations Center receives 19,000 phone calls
  • We have 9,000 doors with locks, hinges, and hardware
  • There are 900 heating/AC units in Residence halls alone
  • 550 fire extinguishers inspected monthly
  • 1,000 emergency lights/signs checked monthly
  • 4,800 customer requests were processed and completed in 2012
  • The lock shop processed 3,000 keys in 2012